Logical Bug in Message Delete Functionality in Zoho (Cliq Application) that leads to Deleted message seen to user.
As you know that every chat application send push
notification to user’s device when a message arrive.
Push Notification:
Push
notification is a message pushed from a software application to the user’s
device.
Push
notification originates from the server and they only reach users who have
installed the application. Push notifications are messages
that pops up on a user's mobile device in a heads-up manner are called push notifications. Push
notifications help in
delivering timely & relevant information to users even if the user is not
active on the website or app
DESCRIPTION
:
Most
of the chat application have chat delete functionality, in which a user can delete
the message for everyone. In this case, message are no longer for both user.
But due to some loop holes in message deletion functionality like Message still
shown on push notification after deleting the message from application.
PROCEDURE:
1. Send message from one cliq user
for example Amit to another user patil
2. Patil got a notification on his
phone.
3. Then Amit delete the message for everyone .According to delete feature
message should be deleted from both side.
4. But on patil phone Message still
shown on Push notification.
Mitigation:
Message
should be deleted from push notification when user delete message for everyone,
VIDEO POC ATTACHED BELOW:
Timeline:
Mar 26,
2020 - Bug Reported to ZOHO
Mar 28,
2020 - Status changes to Triaged
Mar 30,
2020 - Nice Catch! From ZOHO❤


Comments